BT Broadband

FREE Amazon Echo & £50 M&S Voucher via link belowCompare BT Broadband deals

FREE Amazon echo & M&S Voucher

BT Broadband Reviews

The good the bad and the ugly. Read honest BT broadband reviews.

1.2 out of 5 from 127 reviews
Filter by rating:
5
6
1
8
97
Filter by:
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
Reviews (124)
Broadband review by Rich
Rich
BT a provider with no service
18 days ago.
Review
Been without Internet for a week, Even though BT promised to have it sorted on 3 different occasions, today Open Reach tell me it will be out for upto a month. BT's response is to pass me from pillar to post, ending up with Paul from Cardiff. He read continually from his notes and kept going on mute to write more notes saying the same thing !!! To be honest an absolute disgrace, I've been with then for 20 odd years and they are happy for me to be without Internet for a month but won't let me cancel my contract - that's how to keep customers - what a service !! - appalling from top to bottom
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by ChelsBb
ChelsBb
You will want to escape..
1 months ago.
Review
Terrible service. Terrible Customer Care. Blamed the customer for their mistakes, Refuses to fix those problems. Charging me for a package I've cancelled and refusing to cancel for free because they didnt want to cancel when I requested during trial period.
Stuck paying for TV monthly (I cant even use the TV due to your unsafe wires). My initial starter deal was an Amazon Alexa, but they ''DIDNT HAVE THAT DEAL ON AT THE TIME" Fucking bunch of lying money grabbers.


AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
1 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by Joanne
Joanne
Appalling
1 months ago.
Review
Maybe everyone thats experiencing serious problems with BT or open reach should send their complaint here? I will be sending mine tonight.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b006mg74/contact
Customer service
Overall satisfaction
1 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by Dal
Dal
Broadband
1 months ago.
Review
I’m just waiting contract end, it was likely better before but now too weak broadband service even time to time connection fail.
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
1 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by Mr tox
Mr tox
Bad customers care
1 months ago.
Review
If I could give 0 stars I would. Our business has lost thousands in revenue promising us their service after cancelling installation SEVEN times! We were shipped from pillar to post overseas which cost a huge amount in phone costs. unreliable, inefficient; If you can't complete a service then why take it on
Package price
Customer service
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by Tox
Tox
Too bad customers care
1 months ago.
Review

If I could give 0 stars I would. Our business has lost thousands in revenue promising us their service after cancelling installation SEVEN times! We were shipped from pillar to post overseas which cost a huge amount in phone costs. unreliable, inefficient; If you can't complete a service then why take it on
Package price
Customer service
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by Michael
Michael
BT Films / Programs
1 months ago.
Review
I have been on asking B.T technician twice trying to get answers as to why I have not been able to watch films/programmes on B.T. I had sport already so that works fine. I go on at the top of my screen with my sky control go on to sport and click on sky. Please see my questions below:
Pearl Wilson, Technician's Assistant
Welcome! How can I help with your electronics question?
You
I have had a package from BT i'm meant to be able to watch programs and films. I dont have a bt button on my remote. I can get sport, buts that is it.
Virtual Assistant avatar
Pearl Wilson, Technician's Assistant
What's the brand and model of your product?
You
where does it tell me that?
Virtual Assistant avatar
Pearl Wilson, Technician's Assistant
The Technician will be able to walk you through that. What have you tried so far?
You
is this it hub 4 type a serial number 068340+nq42603637
Virtual Assistant avatar
Pearl Wilson, Technician's Assistant
Who makes your router?
You
not a clue
Virtual Assistant avatar
Pearl Wilson, Technician's Assistant
What have you tried so far?
You
Theres not much to try I dont have a button anywhere that says BT films or programes my son updated it a few months ago. but only sport works which was on already
Virtual Assistant avatar
Pearl Wilson, Technician's Assistant
Anything else you want the Network Expert to know before I connect you?
You
no
Virtual Assistant avatar
Pearl Wilson, Technician's Assistant
OK. I'm sending you to a secure page on JustAnswer so you can place the £5 fully-refundable payment for a trial membership now. While you're filling out that form, I'll tell the Network Technician about your situation and then connect you two. Continue >>
Where do they answer any question? all they want is another £5 of me. Who is Pearl? Can she not read English ? is she a robot. Anyone thinking of using B.T don't. They will sell it you and be nice but if you have a question or problem there no where to be seen.
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
3 people found the following review helpful
  • Broadband review by Sky customer
    Sky customer 1 months ago.
    Hi Rick, just read your comment. I am not the owner of the review above but Sky are very good. My parents are also with Plusnet and have had no issues. Good luck with the switch.
Broadband review by X
X
Worst customer service I’ve ever experienced.
1 months ago.
Review
Switched over to BT for “faster broadband” the first day we got our router, connected it and it didn’t work. We called BT and we were told it would switch on at midnight. So next morning we check and still nothing. So they sent out an engineer 3 days later who told us we need a new router as this one was faulty, it was sent to us the day after which still didn’t work. So once again we cal bt they tell us an engineer would come out in the morning 2 days later. This was the morning of Christmas Eve and at this point we have been without wifi for a week. We waited for that whole morning and no one turned up. So for the last time. We call bt. Fed up with how they have neglected us. After half an hour of being transferred to different departments just to repeat the same story of what happened to us the last person hangs up on us. So I call again. Totally fed up at this point. And after another hour of being passed around I manage to cancel our contract with an amazing £10 compensation. Even better. We are told the earliest they can cancel from is the 4th January. Being almost 3 weeks with no WiFi and we can’t get a different provider until then either as the phone line will be connected still. Still no explanation of why no engineer turned up or what even happened this entire time. As a last resort I try use their BT hotspot things to get a little bit of wifi even if it’s not the best as I’m running out of mobile data but I want to be in touch with family abroad over Christmas. All BT customers have access to these hotspots and since our services are cancelled on the 4th January then surely we should be able to use these? I tried everything to log in but of course. It didn’t work. So I go on the online chat to BT to ask what is going on. To be told that our contract has in fact been cancelled effective immediately not from the 4th January. I ask the advisor why We have been told so many lies and he leaves the chat. Absolutely appalled at the customer service they provide. Left us without wifi over Christmas for 3 weeks. Stay as far away from BT as possible.
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
1 people found the following review helpful
  • Broadband review by Rick
    Rick 1 months ago.
    Hi same happened to me over Xmas bloody awful 8 days without Wi-Fi just had enough £40.00 pm they take that ok!! Who did you change to and any good!! Rick
  • Broadband review by Libby
    Libby 1 months ago.
    I think it's the best thing you did cancelling. As soon as I have finished my contract I'm off will never use BT again.
Broadband review by AGW
AGW
Do bt abide by the new Ofcom scheme?
2 months ago.
Review
https://www.theguardian.com/money/2017/nov/10/broadband-landline-compensation-scheme-payouts

tell me why I have to accept a constant download speed of 29.3-29.5mb (should be 60-80mb) on BT FastBFII and constant downtime and a landline with no dial tone since sign-up only a few weeks ago! after an hour on the phone and its the same BS script about sending out an engineer - the same engineer fee as the previous supplier - the unscrupulous context of having to agree to their terms and to agree to their quote over the telephone. is this industry regulated. BS
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
1 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by Rachel
Rachel
Locked Phone
2 months ago.
Review
We have been with BT for years and have trouble throughout our experiences. Customer Service is a HUGE problem. Our latest frustration has been that recently I have moved away form BT mobile as our signal was really bad, my phone would say I had signal but friends and family repeatedly couldn't get through to me. Upon changing my number to another provider I discovered my phone, which had been paid for independently had been locked to BT. I have now been waiting 6 days for BT to unlock my number and have been phone less this entire time. I am frustrated firstly because the online chat forum required a number to contact me on despite me repeatedly stating that I had no phone because it had been locked without my knowledge. Secondly I am frustrated that a simple procedure has taken 6 days and counting. BT seem to have no control or inclination to hurry up with this procedure and meanwhile I am contactless and without a phone which is required for work purposes.

Customer service
Overall satisfaction
1 people found the following review helpful
Write a review
By clicking post you agree to Landlinesavers Terms and Conditions.

Search for BT Broadband in your area

Enter your postcode below to find the best BT deals

 
 

BT Features

How do I switch my broadband to BT?

Switching your broadband provider is a less painful exercise than it used to be. Before you begin the process, it's definitely worth making sure that you're outside of your contract tie-in with your current broadband provider. If you aren't then you will face a financial penalty and will probably be required to pay for each month that you have left on your contract. If you would like to switch to BT broadband and your contract has ended, there is no need to contact your existing supplier. The switching process will be triggered by BT. The exception to this is if your current provider is Virgin Media. In this instance, you will need to contact both BT and Virgin Media to co-ordinate the start of your new service with the end of your old one. If you're ready to start looking for a BT broadband deal, just enter your postcode into our BT broadband calculator above to see which BT broadband deals are available in your area. Or, for results that include deals from all major providers, use the calculator at the top of this page.

Can I keep my telephone number if I switch to BT broadband?

The simple answer is YES! As long as you're not moving house away from your current telephone exchange. The telecoms regulator Ofcom clearly stipulate that if you have not moved, your old provider must allow your number to be transferred.

How long will it take to switch my broadband provider to BT?

From the moment you order your new BT broadband online to the date of installation is usually no more than 14 days. This does not mean that you will be without service for 14 days. The switch over process is normally completed within a few hours on the date of installation, so internet down time is minimal. If you don’t currently have a phone line, or are currently with Virgin Media, then this will delay the process as the broadband switch over cannot be completed until a phone line has been installed.

BT review logo

BT Pro's & Con's

Here's what we think of BT

BT Pro's

  • Reliable service
  • Fast connection
  • Widely available

BT Con's

  • Can be pricey if not within contract
  • Short term contracts for students only
  • Topped Ofcom Complaints League for Pay TV (1st Quarter 2018)

Can I get BT broadband without a phone line?

With any standard (i.e. ADSL) broadband connection the broadband is sent down the copper phone line. Even if you have Superfast fibre broadband the last part of the connection from the telephone exchange to your property still requires the phone line. Virgin Media is the only broadband provider in the UK who can deliver fixed line broadband without a phone line. This is because Virgin don’t use BT’s infrastructure. Instead, they use their own fibre-optic network. Virgin broadband is not available to all properties in the UK but, if you are in a city or built up area, you are more likely to have the option of getting broadband without a phone line.

Will there be any loss of service if I switch to BT broadband?

If you're only switching your broadband to BT and not your telephone service, then your switch over should be almost seamless. If you are switching both your phone and broadband provider, this will require an Engineer to visit your local telephone exchange. The switch over is usually complete within 3 hours of disconnection. If you are switching from Virgin Media, it is possible to keep your old broadband connection active until your BT broadband has been installed and is live.

Do I need a MAC code to switch to BT broadband?

In June 2015 Ofcom made it easier for consumers to switch their phone or broadband supplier. You no longer need to contact your current provider for a MAC code (Migration Authorisation Code). The switching process is entirely handled by your new supplier (BT). This helps to avoid lengthy phone calls to your old provider.