Plusnet Broadband

Exclusive £75 reward card when you join Plusnet via the link below Compare Plusnet Broadband deals

Exclusive Plusnet offer

Plusnet Broadband Reviews

The good the bad and the ugly. Read honest Plusnet broadband reviews.

1.3 out of 5 from 139 reviews
Filter by rating:
8
5
4
15
100
Filter by:
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
Reviews (137)
Broadband review by AG
AG
AVOID PLUSNET
8 days ago.
Review
Been getting 7 meg download speeds for the last year.
This week a line fault meant I lost phone and broadband.
Repair engineer came out and fixed the fault at the end of the road.
My download speed has now dropped to maximum of 4 meg.
Plusnet will not attempt to restore my previous 7 meg speeds because it meets the minimum requirement of 3.5 meg.

Also they blame this on the poor line quality I have. Beware, you may well end up with the bare minimum speed requirements they need to deliver. These are not the advertised speeds, you will have to search these out buried in the small print.UP TO 17 MEG MEANS 3.5 MEG.
SOME OF THE FIBRE DEALS CURRENTLY HAVE A MINIMUM GUARANTEED SPEED OF ONLY 10 MEG. Do yourself a favour and avoid plusnet, this crap about fantastic customer service is advertising bullsh!t, do not believe it.
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by Genti
Genti
Worst company ever
9 days ago.
Review
Given 4 installation dates and never showed up to connect the the service.
Charging me for canceling the order when they did not provide not even 1 min of service. Very frustrating. Will not recommend even if it was free
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by Brett
Brett
Awful
15 days ago.
Review
i travelled all the way from London to my new house in Southampton for engineer to connect me .... waited all day, then called a to find out that the engineer had been cancelled and they just didn't tell me... so drove 90 miles home again, wasted a day and 180 miles driving, no compensation, apparently sorry will do ..... disgusting
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
1 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by Chris
Chris
Avoid at ALL costs
15 days ago.
Review
I signed up with Plusnet late last year for phone & broadband, they even took money for a years line rental in advance, but they only applied to take over the broadband even though I had paid line rental, after phoning them up and being in a queue for over 30 mins each time I cancelled, but they still took my broadband, so NO router from them No access to B.T. broadband anymore, we had NO internet for over a month, my Daughter had to stay at school to do Homework an miss the bus, we where unable to Christmas shopping on line.
But plusnet didn't care, nor did they refund my money they said as the account was closed they couldn't see what money I had paid, and kept the money for 3/4 months, even then they woudn't transfer my money I had to have a cheque, I didn't pay them with a cheque
I am out of pocket by about £300.00 with not able to xmas shop on line, having to pick my Daughter up from school & losing out of the deal I would have had with B.T.
but plusnet will only offer a measly £80.00
Package price
Customer service
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by Sara
Sara
DO NOT SIGN UP TO THIS PROVIDER
17 days ago.
Review
Honestly the worst service I have ever encountered. After it unreliably turning on and off consistently for the year we've had it we had to resign up after they terminated our account because our neighbour switched providers? when we resigned up they said they'd have to inspect the property to see if the wifi would work EVEN THOUGH we have had plusnet for a year and our landlords for the year before therefore the property has been accessible for internet for 2 years with them. Engineer was sent to the property without informing us (even though he had to come inside to 'fix' the connection) and when we rescheduled they got the day wrong twice! We were promised the internet would run within 24 hours of the engineer arriving, the engineer confirmed that it should be available straight away and they only needed to run a signal to the exchange. THEN we are told on the phone we will receive it on the wednesday the WEEK AFTER the engineer has visited. TODAY IS THE THURSDAY, THE INTERNET IS NOT WORKING AND WE HAVE RECEIVED NO REFUND FOR GOING WITHOUT INTERNET FOR OVER A MONTH OF TRYING TO RE-SIGN UP.

NEVER EVER GO WITH THIS SERVICE, THEY WILL TAKE YOUR MONEY AND GIVE YOU NO SERVICE.

Also, they've sent us 2 routers over the past year and charged us for it even though we've made it very clear that we already have a router from our landlords.
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by Shaz
Shaz
Scam
20 days ago.
Review
What a load of rubbish!! The company lies, customer service is very poor, your problem does not get resolve and getting through to them takes forever.
I would not recommend Plusnet, poor communication skills, take money out the account that was not the correct amount.
DO NOT SWITCH TO PLUSNET
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by Mal
Mal
Worst broadband company
22 days ago.
Review
They are liars and conmen, not recommended. They're worse than talk talk, if that's possible.. When I first joined them they quickly took my money, then spent 3 weeks telling lies and bluffing their way through, before setting up internet. Later I informed them I was moving to another flat in the same building, it took 3 weeks of lies and false promises and in the end I cancelled the mandate still with no internet.
Don't use them they are useless..
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by Cath
Cath
Rip off
25 days ago.
Review
What a load of rubbish upgraded to faster wifi and spend most off the time watching a red light blinking do not recommended to anyone one of the worst providers
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
1 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by adam
adam
just like a con draw you in then take you for all you got
1 months ago.
Review
been with plusnet for 4 yrs first 2 yrs were great but recently discovered they been charging me nearly double for last 2 yrs. they been giving me every excuse in the book and refusing to refund me and was very rude to me on the phone told them i was disabled and didnt need the stress all he said was DO WHAT YOU WANT YOU NOT GOT A CHANCE. never been treated that bad in my life will never be going back to them even if there the only provider in the world.
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
3 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by Irene
Irene
Awful
1 months ago.
Review
Be warned if you are looking for any sort of customer care this is not the company for you This is my first ever review so I’m not one for complaining but all plusnet cares about is the money ,they made me feel like a liar and they have even passed my account to their debt collectorsI have been chasing them for 7 months over a £15 outstanding telephone account that was never used
Horrible company policies Basically they are always right
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
2 people found the following review helpful
Write a review
By clicking post you agree to Landlinesavers Terms and Conditions.

Search for plusnet Broadband in your area

Enter your postcode below to find the best Plusnet Broadband deals

 
 

Plusnet Features

How do I switch my broadband to Plusnet?

Switching your broadband provider is a less painful exercise than it used to be. Before you begin the process, it's definitely worth making sure that you're outside of your contract tie-in with your current broadband provider. If you aren't then you will face a financial penalty and will probably be required to pay for each month that you have left on your contract. If you would like to switch to Plusnet broadband and your contract has ended, there is no need to contact your existing supplier. The switching process will be triggered by Plusnet. The exception to this is if your current provider is Virgin Media. In this instance, you will need to contact both Plusnet and Virgin Media to co-ordinate the start of your new service with the end of your old one. If you're ready to start looking for a Plusnet broadband deal, just enter your postcode into our Plusnet broadband calculator above to see which Plusnet broadband deals are available in your area. Or, for results that include deals from all major providers, use the calculator at the top of this page.

Can I keep my phone number if I switch to Plusnet broadband?

The simple answer is YES! As long as you're not moving house away from your current telephone exchange. The telecoms regulator Ofcom clearly stipulate that if you have not moved, your old provider must allow your number to be transferred.

How long will it take to switch my broadband provider to Plusnet?

From the moment you order your new Plusnet broadband online to the date of installation is usually no more than 14 days. This does not mean that you will be without service for 14 days. The switch over process is normally completed within a few hours on the date of installation, so internet down time is minimal. If you don’t currently have a phone line, or are currently with Virgin Media, then this will delay the process as the broadband switch over cannot be completed until a phone line has been installed.

Plusnet review logo

Plusnet Pro's & Con's

Here's what we think of Plusnet

Plusnet Pro's

  • Line rental saver discount available
  • UK-based customer service
  • Competitive pricing

Plusnet Con's

  • Selected offers available to new customers only
  • No frills router
  • VAT bills unavailable for residential packages

Can I get Plusnet broadband without a phone line?

With any standard (i.e. ADSL) broadband connection the broadband is sent down the copper phone line. Even if you have Superfast fibre broadband the last part of the connection from the telephone exchange to your property still requires the phone line. Virgin Media is the only broadband provider in the UK who can deliver fixed line broadband without a phone line. This is because Virgin don’t use BT’s infrastructure. Instead, they use their own fibre-optic network. Virgin broadband is not available to all properties in the UK but, if you are in a city or built up area, you are more likely to have the option of getting broadband without a phone line.

Will there be any loss of service if I switch to Plusnet broadband?

If you're only switching your broadband to Plusnet and not your telephone service, then your switch over should be almost seamless. If you are switching both your phone and broadband provider, this will require an Engineer to visit your local telephone exchange. The switch over is usually complete within 3 hours of disconnection. If you are switching from Virgin Media, it is possible to keep your old broadband connection active until your Plusnet broadband has been installed and is live.

Do I need a MAC code to switch to Plusnet broadband?

In June 2015 Ofcom made it easier for consumers to switch their phone or broadband supplier. You no longer need to contact your current provider for a MAC code (Migration Authorisation Code). The switching process is entirely handled by your new supplier (Plusnet). This helps to avoid lengthy phone calls to your old provider.r