Post Office Broadband

Post office broadband from £15.90 including line rentalCompare Post Office Broadband deals

Post Office Broadband Offer £15.90 per month

Post Office Broadband Reviews

The good the bad and the ugly. Read honest Post Office broadband reviews.

1.1 out of 5 from 466 reviews
Filter by rating:
13
9
9
36
377
Filter by:
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
Reviews (633)
Broadband review by Dave
Dave
DO NOT USE
1 days ago.
Review
Moving to Post Office phone + broadband they cancelled the order saying my phone line was "inactive" (this is the line I use everyday) I checked the line whilst talking to them on my mobile and confirmed it works fine. They refused acknowledge it and cancelled my order saying I would have to take out another order in 24 hours. It just so happened that I had taken the product out with them as there was a £50 credit if done within a certain time period (which I did) but as they had to cancel and let me take it out again (on the same number) I would not be eligible.......MMMMMMM I wonder wehy they canceled the first yet would let me use the same number again AFTER the offer ended.
DO NOT USE ......ABSOLUTE SCAM
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by Moogle
Moogle
Virgin is looking better and better
6 days ago.
Review
I recently renewed this "service" because I *need* the internet for job searching.
I also own a hand me down Xbox, and downloading some games can take more than 24 hours - this was for a 14gb update! Don't bother with the Post Office "broadband" (more like narrowband) with its frequent outages and spotty internet.
Watching a 5 minute YouTube video can take half an hour with the constant buffering every few seconds, so why watch anything at all? It isn't exactly coherent that way.
Assuming the internet's on long enough to access YouTube, of course.
Package price
Customer service
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by Diane
Diane
Rubbish
6 days ago.
Review
Absolute waste of money. Literally no Internet anytime. Don't waste your money !!
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by Jacey
Jacey
Dreadful. Worst broadband ever.
7 days ago.
Review
I usually read reviews before going for something new but this time I didn't. I was lulled into a sense of security by the brand name. I do end more than 4 months a year abroad so wanted a cheap package. The speed is so slow I've looked for a winder and I have to turn the wi fi off to open numerous Web sites on my phone as they will not other wise open. I end up running out of data. Just received another router but hasn't made the slightest difference. I am tied in for another 12 months of this 18 month contract or pay a massive get out charge.
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
1 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by Tel
Tel
Don't bother
8 days ago.
Review
If you want broadband that drops out regularly with speeds below 1 mb regularly and courses printer problems this is the one for you.
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
1 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by KEVIN
KEVIN
Excellent service
9 days ago.
Review
I changed to post office and have to say there service as been excellent.
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by Chris
Chris
Terrible internet speed
10 days ago.
Review
Internet speed fluctuates and is usually way slower than what is advertised. The customer service is terrible, partly due to the people answering the phone having heavy Indian accents that I can't understand,
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
1 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by depressed
depressed
its all lies
15 days ago.
Review
advertised at £17 a month no setup fees.
costs £30 for landline installation.
when you ring up they say average speed can be 2-4 mb per second
which is a big drop from the advertised 11mb per second.
then once you agree they say that these speed can fluctuate based on
number of users but they said it may be 2-4 based on amount of people using the bandwidth.
when you try to download the max speed you get is 170 KB not MB.
don't bother getting broadband through a telephone line as I looked it up
and max speeds are 128kb per second to 3 mb per second.
anything other than cable sucks.
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
4 people found the following review helpful
  • Broadband review by Jon
    Jon 12 days ago.
    I am with Plusnet and live about half a mile from my telephone exchange, the maximum speed my phone line can support is 37Mbs and I get a consistent download speed of 36Mbs. I think the issue is with The Post Office Broadband not the type of connection.
    • Broadband review by Jon
      Jon 11 days ago.
      @Anon Opps forgot I have Fibre, I will get back in my box... LOL. Maybe I should have said switch to Plusnet Fibre it's faultless.
    • Broadband review by Anon
      Anon 12 days ago.
      32 mbps would have to be fibre optic, the highest copper based broadband is physicaly capable of is 24 mbps
  • Broadband review by Anon
    Anon 12 days ago.
    Actually it’s entirely based on your geographic location, I used to work in broadband tech support and dsl (phone line) is technically capable of up to 20 mbps and averages around 8 mbps unless your in an area with terribley maintained cables or are a large distance from the exchange
Broadband review by Nick
Nick
Connections
17 days ago.
Review
I have been with the P.O for several years I am not surprised at some of the comments people are making but there are a lot of dissatisfied customers which really makes me wonder if P.O broadband really care judging by the number frankly not.I had an issue a while ago and the person on there end was obviously blagging his way through it was comical listening to some of the advice I was being given it was just a wasted call but I got a satisfaction ring from them which I did bother with.If I was running this organization I would be really worried about these reviews and my customer service apparently they don't seem to give a fig.
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
4 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by Donna
Donna
DO NOT SWITCH TO THE PO....
18 days ago.
Review
I can honestly say that switching to the post office was a terrible mistake for my mum.
The Internet didn't work at all for 3 weeks, I called them so many times & each time they had no record of my previous call.. They came up with so many different excuses including local building work was causing the problem, a water leak in my area, the router needed to be switched off for 24 hours, oh and they couldn't find a fault......Eventually they said the fault was external and had been repaired.... It hadn't. Someone came avd fixed the phone mast, at last we had broadband. Alas we don't have it all the time, service is inconsistent and goes off several times a day...... DO NOT switch to this shoddy service....
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
5 people found the following review helpful
Write a review
By clicking post you agree to Landlinesavers Terms and Conditions.

Search for Post Office Broadband in your area

Enter your postcode below to find the best Post Office Broadband deals

 
 

Post Office Features

How do I switch my broadband to the Post Office?

Switching your broadband provider is a less painful exercise than it used to be. Before you begin the process, it's definitely worth making sure that you're outside of your contract tie-in with your current broadband provider. If you aren't then you will face a financial penalty and will probably be required to pay for each month that you have left on your contract. If you would like to switch to the Post Office broadband and your contract has ended, there is no need to contact your existing supplier. The switching process will be triggered by the Post Office. The exception to this is if your current provider is Virgin Media. In this instance, you will need to contact both the Post Office and Virgin Media to co-ordinate the start of your new service with the end of your old one. If you're ready to start looking for a Post Office broadband deal, just enter your postcode into our Post Office broadband calculator above to see which Post Office broadband deals are available in your area. Or, for results that include deals from all major providers, use the calculator at the top of this page.

Can I keep my telephone number if I switch to Post Office broadband?

The simple answer is YES! As long as you're not moving house away from your current telephone exchange. The telecoms regulator Ofcom clearly stipulate that if you have not moved, your old provider must allow your number to be transferred.

How long will it take to switch my broadband provider to the Post Office?

From the moment you order your new Post Office broadband online to the date of installation is usually no more than 10 working days. This does not mean that you will be without service for 10 working days. The switch over process is normally completed within a few hours on the date of installation, so internet down time is minimal. If you don’t currently have a phone line, or are currently with Virgin Media, then this will delay the process as the broadband switch over cannot be completed until a phone line has been installed.

Post Office review logo

Post Office Pro's & Con's

Here's what we think of Post Office

Post Office Pro's

  • Very competitively priced
  • Line rental from £11.50 per month
  • Free caller display and voicemail

Post Office Con's

  • Cheap, basic router
  • Poor customer service
  • No customer forum

Can I get Post Office broadband without a phone line?

With any standard (i.e. ADSL) broadband connection the broadband is sent down the copper phone line. Even if you have Superfast fibre broadband the last part of the connection from the telephone exchange to your property still requires the phone line. Virgin Media is the only broadband provider in the UK who can deliver fixed line broadband without a phone line. This is because Virgin don’t use BT’s infrastructure. Instead, they use their own fibre-optic network. Virgin broadband is not available to all properties in the UK but, if you are in a city or built up area, you are more likely to have the option of getting broadband without a phone line.

Will there be any loss of service if I switch to Post Office broadband?

If you're only switching your broadband to the Post Office and not your telephone service, then your switch over should be almost seamless. If you are switching both your phone and broadband provider, this will require an Engineer to visit your local telephone exchange. The switch over is usually complete within 3 hours of disconnection. If you are switching from Virgin Media, it is possible to keep your old broadband connection active until your Post Office broadband has been installed and is live.

Do I need a MAC code to switch to Post Office broadband?

In June 2015 Ofcom made it easier for consumers to switch their phone or broadband supplier. You no longer need to contact your current provider for a MAC code (Migration Authorisation Code). The switching process is entirely handled by your new supplier (the Post Office). This helps to avoid lengthy phone calls to your old provider.