Post Office Broadband

Average peak time speed: 11Mbs, prices start from £17 per month Compare Post Office Broadband deals

Post Office Broadband Offer with Free anytime calls

Post Office Broadband Reviews

The good the bad and the ugly. Read honest Post Office broadband reviews.

1.1 out of 5 from 430 reviews
Filter by rating:
12
9
9
29
349
Filter by:
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
Reviews (597)
Broadband review by Abbey-Ellen Maguire
Abbey-Ellen Maguire
Should be an option for 0 star rating
9 hours ago.
Review
It internet is fine when it’s on but everyday I have to turn it on and off about 3 times a day because the internet completely stops working sometimes it won’t work all day! I call customer service and they talk absolute bullshit! I called 3 times in one day they told me to do the same shit over again they didn’t help me at all. I would not recommend this broadband as you do not get your money’s worth it’s an absolute waist of time I will be switching internet with someone more reliable.
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by Sally
Sally
Post Office Broadband that never happened
1 days ago.
Review
My GO LIVE day was due February 11th 2019 and now seven days later still no internet. phoned the support desk to be told there was an outage and nothing could be done, phoned the next day and told the same thing- no checks were done and so I had to wait. I phoned again the following day and spoke to a different person who said that the information i was given was incorrect and apologised but still no internet, now waiting for engineer to come out but could take 3 days, still no internet and no reasons given. I am not a happy bunny and have been really patient, no one tells you anything, they just keep you waiting and giving silly excuses. I have never had a problem like this before and I will be cancelling ASAP.
Customer service
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by Pweir1
Pweir1
Shocking
2 days ago.
Review
Please do not get this broadband service it is absolutely shockingly poor quality. The internet connectivity is poor and there’s constantly issues with it dropping connection every day there’s connection problems, it's so frustrating. Please take heed and do not switch to this service you will regret it as I do. I am counting down the days until my contract is up. Thank God it was only 12 months.
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by Treesoh
Treesoh
Internet almost unusable
6 days ago.
Review
So apart from stealing a third of my bandwidth, my connection is now almost unusable. It goes down several times a day, often in quick succession - a problem I never had with Plusnet, who gave me 30% more bandwidth on my downnstream. I wish I had have checked to see that Post Office internet is Talk Talk internet, Its my fault for not doing due dilligence, but being stuck with Talk Talk for another 11 month is going to try my patience to the limit.
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
1 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by Nitty 1000
Nitty 1000
What Customer Service
8 days ago.
Review
Tried to cancel my cousin's account as she was in hospital and they said I had to give a months notice even though she was in credit. Sadly my cousin passed away so I notified them. I received a letter that didn't make sense asking me to write in on letter headed paper!!!. I rang them on a Friday afternoon and the only conclusion I can come to is it was their last day of work as they spoke in a silly mocking voice. I tried to explain that I needed a final figure for probate as I was going to be out of the country for a while so needed it actioning asap. I got no cooperation at all and even though I had just lost a dear relative they told me to have a nice weekend.
Customer service
Overall satisfaction
1 people found the following review helpful
  • Broadband review by Treesoh
    Treesoh 6 days ago.
    Same thing happened to me, it's why you need to record EVERY call you make to them. They don't like it when you have evidence, in fact, the abject terror in their voices when they realise they've been caught out is delicious!
Broadband review by Flojo
Flojo
Post office broadband
17 days ago.
Review
Coming up to 16 months with post office broadband and found service brilliant. Done everything I asked for, very satisfied with the service for the price. I will renew with the post office if I get a competitive deal. I will avoid talktalk like the plague.
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
1 people found the following review helpful
  • Broadband review by Treesoh
    Treesoh 12 days ago.
    The Post Office is Talk Talk, interesting how you dislike the same thing you seem to like.
Broadband review by Woody
Woody
Absolute joke avoid
21 days ago.
Review
With po for almost a year during which time they upgraded me to fibre for free so good there. But i don't like to use the direct debit as it always seems to miss my paydays. So i ring and pay by card and here lies the problem. Half the time their automated payment system says i owe nothing on my account then it hangs up when i know i do and when i do this i generally forget about it completely. Until one day the internet doesn't work so i called them the automated system still says i owe nothing. So I ring again and go thru to faults to talk to someone, explained to them I have forgotten, i'll ring back the next day and pay. No. The next day phone cut off can't ring them. Use mobile to phone and pay told up to 72 hours to reconnect. I'm now on 80 hours and still no phone or internet phone multiple times and told if its not on tomorrow ring again. wtf. and that is when i wasn't just cut off by automated system saying we're to busy. I dread to see my mobile bill for this month but am seriously considering another provider.
Package price
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by Tommy
Tommy
Lunatic accountancy
24 days ago.
Review
I recently made arrangements to change my phone/broadband package to another company and getting a much better deal. I was prompted to this by the P.O. increasing charges to an uncompetive level., triggered by a bill that highlighted their increased charges.
Several of the amounts charged on this bill were for amounts that cover future periods when I will have left them.
I phoned and asked for an amended account so I could pay exactly what I owed. The person at the P.O. call centre to pay the bill and the overpayment would eventually be refunded. I objected and was told my call would be transferred to the accounts section. However I was disconnected. Tried to phone the accounts but an automated voice said they had a high volume of calls and to ring back. NO WAY JOSE.
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
4 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by Trevor
Trevor
Very poor connection
25 days ago.
Review
At the time of writing, I am getting 0.47 mps. The guaranteed download is supposed to be no less than 2 mps.
The promotional literature claims to deliver an average of 11 mps which I believe to be impossible unless you are on fibre.
PO do offer fibre at a reasonable rate so I do not understand why they waste time getting new customers on to a service that doesn't work.
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
1 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by Karen's
Karen's
Crap
26 days ago.
Review
The worst connection ever keeps going off buffering constantly would never consider them again they are cheap and you get cheap.
Package price
Customer service
Overall satisfaction
1 people found the following review helpful
Write a review
By clicking post you agree to Landlinesavers Terms and Conditions.

Search for Post Office Broadband in your area

Enter your postcode below to find the best Post Office Broadband deals

 
 

Post Office Features

How do I switch my broadband to the Post Office?

Switching your broadband provider is a less painful exercise than it used to be. Before you begin the process, it's definitely worth making sure that you're outside of your contract tie-in with your current broadband provider. If you aren't then you will face a financial penalty and will probably be required to pay for each month that you have left on your contract. If you would like to switch to the Post Office broadband and your contract has ended, there is no need to contact your existing supplier. The switching process will be triggered by the Post Office. The exception to this is if your current provider is Virgin Media. In this instance, you will need to contact both the Post Office and Virgin Media to co-ordinate the start of your new service with the end of your old one. If you're ready to start looking for a Post Office broadband deal, just enter your postcode into our Post Office broadband calculator above to see which Post Office broadband deals are available in your area. Or, for results that include deals from all major providers, use the calculator at the top of this page.

Can I keep my telephone number if I switch to Post Office broadband?

The simple answer is YES! As long as you're not moving house away from your current telephone exchange. The telecoms regulator Ofcom clearly stipulate that if you have not moved, your old provider must allow your number to be transferred.

How long will it take to switch my broadband provider to the Post Office?

From the moment you order your new Post Office broadband online to the date of installation is usually no more than 10 working days. This does not mean that you will be without service for 10 working days. The switch over process is normally completed within a few hours on the date of installation, so internet down time is minimal. If you don’t currently have a phone line, or are currently with Virgin Media, then this will delay the process as the broadband switch over cannot be completed until a phone line has been installed.

Post Office review logo

Post Office Pro's & Con's

Here's what we think of Post Office

Post Office Pro's

  • Very competitively priced
  • Line rental from £11.50 per month
  • Free caller display and voicemail

Post Office Con's

  • Cheap, basic router
  • Poor customer service
  • No customer forum

Can I get Post Office broadband without a phone line?

With any standard (i.e. ADSL) broadband connection the broadband is sent down the copper phone line. Even if you have Superfast fibre broadband the last part of the connection from the telephone exchange to your property still requires the phone line. Virgin Media is the only broadband provider in the UK who can deliver fixed line broadband without a phone line. This is because Virgin don’t use BT’s infrastructure. Instead, they use their own fibre-optic network. Virgin broadband is not available to all properties in the UK but, if you are in a city or built up area, you are more likely to have the option of getting broadband without a phone line.

Will there be any loss of service if I switch to Post Office broadband?

If you're only switching your broadband to the Post Office and not your telephone service, then your switch over should be almost seamless. If you are switching both your phone and broadband provider, this will require an Engineer to visit your local telephone exchange. The switch over is usually complete within 3 hours of disconnection. If you are switching from Virgin Media, it is possible to keep your old broadband connection active until your Post Office broadband has been installed and is live.

Do I need a MAC code to switch to Post Office broadband?

In June 2015 Ofcom made it easier for consumers to switch their phone or broadband supplier. You no longer need to contact your current provider for a MAC code (Migration Authorisation Code). The switching process is entirely handled by your new supplier (the Post Office). This helps to avoid lengthy phone calls to your old provider.