TalkTalk Broadband

Sale now on! TalkTalk Broadband & Line rental from £17 Compare TalkTalk Broadband deals

TalkTalk Broadband Guarantee

TalkTalk Broadband Reviews

The good the bad and the ugly. Read honest TalkTalk broadband reviews.

1.0 out of 5 from 552 reviews
Filter by rating:
5
4
12
35
466
Filter by:
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
Reviews (587)
Broadband review by Jack
Jack
Most inept and rude company ever
19 days ago.
Review
I don’t think I have ever dealt with a more inept and rude company.

I had been with TalkTalk for 18 months, and during that time my internet cut out maybe 11-12 times. Dealing with this means having a one-hour phone call while the company runs a series of ‘tests’, which eventually work and restore the internet. I would ask them every time, ‘if you can repeatedly fix this reoccurring problem from your end, then why does it keep happening?’. I would receive a vague response. This culminated in December 2018, when I didn’t have any internet whatsoever for two weeks. They were initially reluctant to send out an engineer, and when they finally did, the engineer concluded that the problem was with a faulty router, and that TalkTalk need to send a new one. After another extremely long phone call with yet another rude customer service rep, who repeatedly denied that it is TalkTalk responsibility to send the new router (again, despite THEIR engineer saying otherwise), I was eventually passed onto a manager, who apologised and said that it is indeed their responsibility, and that they would send a new router right away. I might add that no refund was provided for the half a month I had with no internet. I was promised a call from a customer complaints department, which never came.

I cancelled my contract on the 17th December and was told I would have to pay for the following month. I received a bill on the same day for £29, and an email on the 19th December assuring me that that was my final bill. I then received another bill on 16th January for another £29, despite the fact I’d already received an email stating ‘final bill’, and that my final date at the address was the 17th January. I cancelled my direct debit, assuming that this was a mistake on TalkTalk’s end.

Wrong. Apparently, the process is that I was to be charged the full £29 for the dates between the 15th (when the bill is normally generated), and the 17th Jan (my final date), and that I would be reimbursed the difference. None of this was made clear during the cancellation process. Instead, I was charged an additional £12.50 for cancelling the direct debit. When contesting this on the phone with the extremely rude manager, Angelique, I was told that they would never have sent an email out saying ‘final bill’, and that I should have read the terms and conditions. Firstly, they did send that email, I was literally reading it as we spoke and offered to forward it onto her (I wasn’t allowed to), and secondly, I questioned when these terms and conditions were provided to me (they weren’t). Thirdly, Angelique is possibly the rudest manager going. I had to ask her numerous times during the call to stop interrupting me (it didn’t work). And by her saying that they would never send an email that I was literally looking at is tantamount to calling me a liar. Finally, why isn’t this process made clearer? I feel that all of the above is done to deliberately mislead the customer, so they can get that one last additional bit of money from them. Fine, have it. I would pay ten times the amount to not have to deal with your awful internet, and terrible customer service ever again.

If you are reading this, I cannot emphasise strongly enough to you that you should avoid this company at all costs. If you choose not to follow this advice, then I wish you the best of luck with your awful internet, and monthly one-hour phone calls to resolve the issue.
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
1 people found the following review helpful
  • Broadband review by cathie
    cathie 16 days ago.
    I Left 31.1.19!! Trying my luck with plusnet who I was with before I switched and they were honest.. Poor You. I will be contacting my bank after my 'final bill' is payed...I too had such an email but I don't trust the ethics either so forewarned is forearmed..Thanks
Broadband review by Claudia
Claudia
AVOID AVOID AVOID!
20 days ago.
Review
Worst customer service. Canceled my contract with more than 30 days notice that was required. Apparently whoever I was talking to didn't cancel my contract. After stating I had phone evidence of the conversation that took place online I was hung up on, after 15 minutes waiting to speak to someone.

Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
2 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by Nestor
Nestor
Horrid broadband service.
21 days ago.
Review
The installation of the Internet was made on December 8, but it could not be finished. First, they informed me that there was an obstruction in the conduit to pass the cable, second that there was a data problem and finally, a month later they told us that it was necessary to cancel the contract and make a new one because the previous one was not well done. We were all Christmas without Internet service. We received messages saying that the service was alive. On top of this we received a bill informing us that they would charge us for the service. After several calls they assured us that everything was cancelled and days later the bank debited us the money. Now we are claiming the refund and without any answer.
All this situation has caused several problems to my family, we have spent a month without Internet service, wasting time and money. We have been in touch with TalkTalk by email and telephone, however, nobody has ever contacted us. We asked to speak with a supervisor or someone responsible from the company, but they said that it was not possible, they cancelled the contract due to their inability to connect the service, they also charged us for the unsuccessfully service and now nobody answers to return our money. What other new thing could we expect if, beyond cancelling the contract, we continue wasting time and money.
When are we suppose to have our money back?
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by Dazzle
Dazzle
My Time with TT
22 days ago.
Review
My review isn't damning it's just a realistic experience of my 24...yes, 24 month standard adsl contract with Talk Talk.

Pros:
Cheap as chips
Fixed price throughout my term
Easy setup, usually no engineer needed
Decent set of Tv channels if you have a bundle deal, you can add
and remove channels as you go.

Cons:
Awful piece of junk plastic slow router I used this for about a week before
heading over to Argos ad buying myself a proper one.

Signal dropout. If you choose NOT to have your box 'always on'... ie: A constant wifi connection in standby that throttles your
bandwidth day and night, then your premium tv channels on the box will need to be constantly rebooted as if you are switching it on for the first time, every time it boots, And talking of which…..

Bandwidth throttle. Aside from a painfully slow download speed at times you won't have to do much more than watch Netflix (not on your TalkTalk box of course) for your speed to drop and be met with a warning your bandwidth is to low to continue.

If you look up something on your phone with wifi, youtube would buffer instantly.

But The EMAILS!..: For the last 2-3 months while your bandwidth is shrinking you will periodically get tempting offers to upgrade
your package to fibre along with a bogus graph illustrating the signal drops.
This was for me the straw that broke the camels back.

Overall, If you want some decent tv channels at a bargain basement price and are willing to do battle with your hardware every now and then with zero help from the online chat robots...erm I mean humans, then go for it, but it's all a bit sh** to be honest and since our contract started there are better deals out there.

Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by Haris
Haris
This is fraud
22 days ago.
Review
This company is a scam, they selectivity reduce bandwidth, which is why lots of people dont get a stable internet connection. On top of that they work with ookla one of the companies who run the speed tests and selectivity increase bandwidth when running a speed test so it looks like you have good speeds when you don't. They are such a dodgy company. There customer service advisers have no idea this happens which is why they always think people are getting the speed they pay for when they really don't, so there is no real point dealing with them. I wish the uk had better laws regarding how these companies can operate because what they are doing is illegal, if i pay for a pizza and only get served a slice that company is stealing from me...well if i pay for 30mb/per second and only realisticly get 230kb per second when running a private download test (not one of the ones talk talk speeds up when they are running) well thats fraud. Thing is talk talks customer service team probably have no idea this happens and maybe even some of there tec team, hence why they cant help out....all in all avoid this company like the plague.
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by Nik
Nik
Do not use talk talk
23 days ago.
Review
We have been using talk talk and the internet speed is not the speed we were told it would be. It is BELOW the minimum speed it should be!! We were told someone could come out at a cost - even though it isn’t our fault that the speed of the internet is below what is in the contract. Every time we have contacted talk talk the service has been awful and we had been hung up on numerous times when we said we wanted to close our account. AWFUL SERVICE!!! DO NOT USE!!
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
1 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by Martin
Martin
It's not that bad
25 days ago.
Review
I am with talktalk and it works just fine. I agree customer service can be a little painful at times but very rarely need to call them other than that it's cheap and it works
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by Laury
Laury
Poor
26 days ago.
Review
I have been trying to resolve issues with emailing out and in on iPhone and iPad for weeks? Hours of phone calls .The last technician blamed Apple I eventually waited ages to speak to a manager who said it was an issue they could not address. I am screaming to leave but they want £145 for the privilege. Don't go near. SCREA M. SCREAM !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
1 people found the following review helpful
  • Broadband review by Landlinesaver
    Landlinesaver 26 days ago.
    Hi, sorry to hear you are having issues with your emails. It's likely to be a setting error on your iPhone/iPad and unlikely to be something that TalkTalk have blocked. We might be able to offer some guidance if you need a helping hand. Do your emails work ok when you are on a 3G mobile connection? Have you tried testing it on another Wi-Fi connection?
Broadband review by A
A
Terrible internet provider - AVOID
27 days ago.
Review
Terrible internet provider & will never use Talk Talk again.

Decided to give them a go due to a cheaper tv package which included sports compared to other providers. Won’t again though!

At start of contract it wasn’t too bad but as time progressed the internet was so intermittent and more off than on. Took me a life time to get in touch with customer services who said they won’t replace the router as it’s the latest one.

If you do decide to switch to Talk Talk, you’ll pay for a service that you don’t actually get! AVOID AVOID AVOID!!!
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
1 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by Jay
Jay
Avoid
1 months ago.
Review
Please avoid at all cost. It's 2019 this has got to be one of the worst companies I have ever dealt with.

Don't fall for any promises, they just want you to sign up. I had an issue which I explained to a manger I even explained what I could do to resolve it.

I was reassured that she would be able to handle my concerns. Two weeks later no one got back to me, my concerns have not been meet.

I am now faced with an expense. Customer service are not helpful complains department are just as worse.

Stay well clear.
Customer service
Overall satisfaction
2 people found the following review helpful
Write a review
By clicking post you agree to Landlinesavers Terms and Conditions.

Search for TalkTalk Broadband in your area

Enter your postcode below to find the best TalkTalk Broadband deals

 
 

Talk Talk Features

How do I switch my broadband to Talk Talk?

Switching your broadband provider is a less painful exercise than it used to be. Before you begin the process, it's definitely worth making sure that you're outside of your contract tie-in with your current broadband provider. If you aren't then you will face a financial penalty and will probably be required to pay for each month that you have left on your contract. If you would like to switch to Talk Talk broadband and your contract has ended, there is no need to contact your existing supplier. The switching process will be triggered by Talk Talk. The exception to this is if your current provider is Virgin Media. In this instance, you will need to contact both Talk Talk and Virgin Media to co-ordinate the start of your new service with the end of your old one. If you're ready to start looking for a Talk Talk broadband deal, just enter your postcode into our Talk Talk broadband calculator above to see which Talk Talk broadband deals are available in your area. Or, for results that include deals from all major providers, use the calculator at the top of this page.

Can I keep my telephone number if I switch to Talk Talk broadband?

The simple answer is YES! As long as you're not moving house away from your current telephone exchange. The telecoms regulator Ofcom clearly stipulate that if you have not moved, your old provider must allow your number to be transferred.

How long will it take to switch my broadband provider to Talk Talk?

From the moment you order your new Talk Talk broadband online to the date of installation can be as little as 15 working days. This does not mean that you will be without service for 15 working days. The switch over process is normally completed within a few hours on the date of installation, so internet down time is minimal. If you don’t currently have a phone line, or are currently with Virgin Media, then this will delay the process as the broadband switch over cannot be completed until a phone line has been installed.

Talk Talk review logo

Talk Talk Pro's & Con's

Here's what we think of Talk Talk

Talk Talk Pro's

  • Fixed price for contract length
  • Inclusive call privacy features
  • 'New' Wi-Fi Hub Router free with fibre broadband

Talk Talk Con's

  • Slower switching estimates
  • Non UK-based customer support
  • Top the Ofcom complaints league for both home phone and broadband. (1st Quarter 2018)

Can I get Talk Talk broadband without a phone line?

With any standard (i.e. ADSL) broadband connection the broadband is sent down the copper phone line. Even if you have Superfast fibre broadband the last part of the connection from the telephone exchange to your property still requires the phone line. Virgin Media is the only broadband provider in the UK who can deliver fixed line broadband without a phone line. This is because Virgin don’t use BT’s infrastructure. Instead, they use their own fibre-optic network. Virgin broadband is not available to all properties in the UK but, if you are in a city or built up area, you are more likely to have the option of getting broadband without a phone line.

Will there be any loss of service if I switch to Talk Talk broadband?

If you're only switching your broadband to Talk Talk and not your telephone service, then your switch over should be almost seamless. If you are switching both your phone and broadband provider, this will require an Engineer to visit your local telephone exchange. The switch over is usually complete within 3 hours of disconnection. If you are switching from Virgin Media, it is possible to keep your old broadband connection active until your Talk Talk broadband has been installed and is live.

Do I need a MAC code to switch to Talk Talk broadband?

In June 2015 Ofcom made it easier for consumers to switch their phone or broadband supplier. You no longer need to contact your current provider for a MAC code (Migration Authorisation Code). The switching process is entirely handled by your new supplier (Talk Talk). This helps to avoid lengthy phone calls to your old provider.