TalkTalk Broadband

TalkTalk The UK's lowest fixed price Broadband Compare TalkTalk Broadband deals

TalkTalk Broadband Guarantee

TalkTalk Broadband Reviews

The good the bad and the ugly. Read honest TalkTalk broadband reviews.

1.0 out of 5 from 630 reviews
Filter by rating:
5
6
14
47
528
Filter by:
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
Reviews (665)
Broadband review by susie
susie
Nonsensical chat
17 hours ago.
Review
Many reasons for being dissatisfied with talktalk but the newest one is finding out that I have been being charged for TV services and a TV box that I have never had. An online chat this evening was incredibly frustrating with the other person continuing to talk as if I have got this TV box. Said it was sent to my email address. I asked how that would even be possible. Eventually got the charge removed but the person then went into detail about what I could and could not do with the TV box I had told them repeatedly I have never had. You couldn't make it up. Oh yes they also tried to tell me Free view now charge
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
1 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by mark
mark
No complaints department
1 days ago.
Review
I received awful service from them recently and wanted to complain, I was told they would put me through to complaints, guess what it was never connected...twice that happened
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by Myles
Myles
WORST Company Ever I hate Them
1 days ago.
Review
For about a month my wifi is supposed to be doing 50Mbs at least as a minimum and on a consistent basis it goes down to 3mbps for hours hate the company unreliable and rubbish never use very frustrating.
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
1 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by Hayley
Hayley
WORST COMPANY EVER
2 days ago.
Review
Had nothing but awful service from them. The box wasn’t working was told it would take a week to come, then they said they could deliver a new box in the next 2 days. Nothing still delivered and just been told it will take another 4 days to come as it’s bank holiday weekend. Waited over a month for WiFi from them and they are trying to charge me for the first months payment. Absolutely disgusting service so dissapointed and definitely do not recommend ANYONE to use them.
Customer service
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by DJL
DJL
Abysmal!
2 days ago.
Review
I have been a customer of talktalk's for several years. All started well with free anytime calls and a broadband speed of around 3.5Mbps (I know, but that's the best I could expect in my area at the time). Before too long, that already low speed declined and that became the trend. The speed kept falling and I kept ringing them to complain. The speed would rise (to around 1.7Mbps) and then decline again, often to as low as 0.3! We had several visits to the street by engineers, a couple of times even digging up the pavement. On finding out that some of my neighbours had a fibre connection, I rang Talktalk repeatedly to ask whether I could get fibre only to be told that "Yes, it's in your area but all the available connections are taken'.
On the last occasion that I called them I was told: 1. That they were only obliged to maintain a speed of 1Mbps and, 2. That I could have fibre for an extra £25 per month! This is on top of the £44 I was already paying. That's when I belatedly had a look at a comparison site and I came up with Now TV. To cut a long story short, my new service started today, promptly and with minimum fuss. There was a problem with the line to my house but before I even noticed, two Open Reach engineers appeared in the street and worked their magic. I now have a whacking 37Mbps speed, free anytime calls and a six month pass for Now TV programmes, all for a 1 year period at £25 per month! The projected cost at the end of that period is still lower than I was paying Talktalk.



Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by Hannah
Hannah
Worst customer service I have ever experienced!
3 days ago.
Review
Honestly the worst customer service I have ever experienced with any company. Do Not go with talk talk, life is too short!
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
1 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by Dwk
Dwk
No one listens and nobody cares
3 days ago.
Review
I made the mistake of phoning up and getting a better price for my contract. Two weeks later a got an email saying I was going to get a tv box (I didn’t ask for one and had said when I was chatting about my contract that I didn’t want a tv box). So I phoned the call centre and was told it was a scam email and not to worry there was not one on order. Four days later email from dhl you will receive a parcel from talk talk phoned the call centre and told it’s a tv box and it’s to late to stop dhl so I will need to accept it or I will have to collect it from the post office as it was my responsibility but they would send a bag to return the box. Took a day of work box delivered. Waited till Monday no bag phoned and told a bag would be dispatched Wednesday phoned as no bag. Told no bag had been ordered and did I like the tv box , there was nothing they could do till Thursday. Thursday systems down phone back later or better still Friday. I have now had enough all I want to do is leave talk talk you don’t seem to care about your customers and after being with them for 19 years this is mad.
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
2 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by Andomk
Andomk
Worst broadband provider EVER
3 days ago.
Review
I ordered with talktalk on the 30th January as I was due to move in to my new flat mid Feb, they promised me that everything would be done by the 12th,low and behold 12th came and went and nothing happened I chased them and was advised that openreach was at fault and it should be done by the 21st Feb and again nothing happened. I rang and they apologies and advise there was still issues with openreach but this time they promised it would definitely be installed on the 22nd March. And on the 21st March exactly 12 hours before the installation was due to take place they completely cancelled the order and told me I had to reorder the entire package, but due to the length of time the availability in the exchange had gone so I had to order the standard not the fibre I wanted. This time I had to wait for the 15th April, so I have finally got it installed and the speed and reliability is shit so I have moved to another supplier which I hope will be 10 times better. And guess what no compensation or apology offered due to inconvenience caused
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
1 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by Lorraine
Lorraine
DO NOT USE UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCES
4 days ago.
Review
DO NOT USE TALK TALK UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCES. When my account was due for renewal, I tried phoning, emailing, tried to find their chat online but just got write to such and such address or phone. Eventually got through and spoke to a man and I could not understand a word he said, I asked to be put through to a manager several times and was ignored and he persisted to speak fast despite my repeatedly saying I could not understand him. The upshot was I said I would stop my standing order. After weeks and hours on the phone repeating the same thing I was cut off broadband and phone. The only number I could get was to pay Talk Talk's outrageous bill. Today they are now trying to charge me for the time they cut me off, and the lady said they could bill me up until 2020. I said they could not bill me for services they had cut me off from and we had no contract and I have made other arrangements. I have reserved my position against them and said if they tried to enforce a contract which did not exist I would counterclaim and that they can now only contact me in writing etc. AVOID AT ALL COSTS
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by Weather
Weather
Worst connection made worse by the most terrible customer service
4 days ago.
Review
This is the worst and most ridiculous customer service I have ever come across.

I have had poor internet speeds for the 4 months I have been with TalkTalk and it has been getting progressively worse. I reported it three weeks ago when it was struggling to load talktalks own internet page. I went through speaking to several advisors who constantly asked me the same questions and never seemed to get an answer as to why my speed was so bad. I gave up for a couple of weeks as I was away. I have retackled the issue and I am astounded by their incompetence.

I spent a whole day talking to several advisors and eventually a manager via the online chat, text and phone. To be eventually told that yes my connections speed is ridiculously low (0,5Mb) and to fix it they would have to send a new router. A couple days later I have received the new router - I am still having issues so I contact talktalk again via online chat and text. After several hours of them not even doing proper checks on the line as they painfully slowly asked me questions totally unrelated to the issue and constantly asked for my mobile to contact me on... Only to be told that as I opened up a complaint I have to wait THREE DAYS for a manager to solve my issues for me... REALLY?

Don't do it. Ignore the cheap price it is not worth it.
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
1 people found the following review helpful
  • Broadband review by Sasha Lakeman
    Sasha Lakeman 4 days ago.
    I switched for a cheaper provider and what a mistake that was! I got a phone to upgrade to optic fibre for a little extra so obviously I did, he also added on a TV package at a special price but assured me that they would ring before the TV package increased in price. This didn’t happen and one month my bill suddenly increased to what I was paying with BT (£47) but with half of the stuff e.g ability to record! I spent 2 hours on the phone, i spoke to 3 people one of which refused to put me through to a manager initially! The other ‘technical’ support was a complete joke, tried to sell me extra boosters etc, I live in a small 2 bed house, the issue is clearly with the provider as I’ve had no problems with the other internet companies. I explained how I had yo turn my 4G on in thd morning and late at night because the wifi didn’t work, he told me nothing is flagging up so after 2 hours of my life had disappeared it was basically there’s nothing we can do! This is by far the worst internet provider I’ve ever experienced, and it’s not even that cheap once they add all the extras on, this is basically a com! Customer service is appalling and useless! I honestly would avoid at all costs!
Write a review
By clicking post you agree to Landlinesavers Terms and Conditions.

Search for TalkTalk Broadband in your area

Enter your postcode below to find the best TalkTalk Broadband deals

 
 

Talk Talk Features

How do I switch my broadband to Talk Talk?

Switching your broadband provider is a less painful exercise than it used to be. Before you begin the process, it's definitely worth making sure that you're outside of your contract tie-in with your current broadband provider. If you aren't then you will face a financial penalty and will probably be required to pay for each month that you have left on your contract. If you would like to switch to Talk Talk broadband and your contract has ended, there is no need to contact your existing supplier. The switching process will be triggered by Talk Talk. The exception to this is if your current provider is Virgin Media. In this instance, you will need to contact both Talk Talk and Virgin Media to co-ordinate the start of your new service with the end of your old one. If you're ready to start looking for a Talk Talk broadband deal, just enter your postcode into our Talk Talk broadband calculator above to see which Talk Talk broadband deals are available in your area. Or, for results that include deals from all major providers, use the calculator at the top of this page.

Can I keep my telephone number if I switch to Talk Talk broadband?

The simple answer is YES! As long as you're not moving house away from your current telephone exchange. The telecoms regulator Ofcom clearly stipulate that if you have not moved, your old provider must allow your number to be transferred.

How long will it take to switch my broadband provider to Talk Talk?

From the moment you order your new Talk Talk broadband online to the date of installation can be as little as 15 working days. This does not mean that you will be without service for 15 working days. The switch over process is normally completed within a few hours on the date of installation, so internet down time is minimal. If you don’t currently have a phone line, or are currently with Virgin Media, then this will delay the process as the broadband switch over cannot be completed until a phone line has been installed.

Talk Talk review logo

Talk Talk Pro's & Con's

Here's what we think of Talk Talk

Talk Talk Pro's

  • Fixed price for contract length
  • Inclusive call privacy features
  • 'New' Wi-Fi Hub Router free with fibre broadband

Talk Talk Con's

  • Slower switching estimates
  • Non UK-based customer support
  • Top the Ofcom complaints league for both home phone and broadband. (1st Quarter 2018)

Can I get Talk Talk broadband without a phone line?

With any standard (i.e. ADSL) broadband connection the broadband is sent down the copper phone line. Even if you have Superfast fibre broadband the last part of the connection from the telephone exchange to your property still requires the phone line. Virgin Media is the only broadband provider in the UK who can deliver fixed line broadband without a phone line. This is because Virgin don’t use BT’s infrastructure. Instead, they use their own fibre-optic network. Virgin broadband is not available to all properties in the UK but, if you are in a city or built up area, you are more likely to have the option of getting broadband without a phone line.

Will there be any loss of service if I switch to Talk Talk broadband?

If you're only switching your broadband to Talk Talk and not your telephone service, then your switch over should be almost seamless. If you are switching both your phone and broadband provider, this will require an Engineer to visit your local telephone exchange. The switch over is usually complete within 3 hours of disconnection. If you are switching from Virgin Media, it is possible to keep your old broadband connection active until your Talk Talk broadband has been installed and is live.

Do I need a MAC code to switch to Talk Talk broadband?

In June 2015 Ofcom made it easier for consumers to switch their phone or broadband supplier. You no longer need to contact your current provider for a MAC code (Migration Authorisation Code). The switching process is entirely handled by your new supplier (Talk Talk). This helps to avoid lengthy phone calls to your old provider.