Virgin Media

Virgin Media Broadband, TV & Home phone from £33 per month Compare Virgin Media deals

Virgin Media Broadband

Virgin Media Broadband Reviews

The good the bad and the ugly. Read honest Virgin Media broadband reviews.

1.0 out of 5 from 226 reviews
Filter by rating:
0
4
6
27
170
Filter by:
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
Reviews (222)
Broadband review by  unhappy
unhappy
Terrible standard of service across the board.
4 months ago.
Review
Virgin messed up the install and left us hanging for 10 days with no internet or landline, customer services no help at all, Please avoid this provider at all costs, if you have just joined make sure you cancel within 14 days or they have got you.
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by David
David
ABSOLUTELY ABYSMAL
4 months ago.
Review
After agreeing to provide a free WiFi extender in July, they then told me that it's not free any more.

I ended up going to the ombudsmen because of the previous, numerous issues I've encountered, and it was decided that I am indeed to receive it free of charge.

Every so often I kept contacting Virgin about this and today, someone has added it to my account and is chargeable.

Numerous phone calls and messages and they're still not giving it to me for free, despite being told to my the ombudsmen, but instead credited my account with the cost until the end of the contract year in July (which I didn't agree to before) and waver the extra £5 cost for the delivery as well.

Like others have said, some are difficult to understand plus in my experience they lie by saying they'll ring back and they don't, they cancel engineers visits, they say there's an outage but no information about it is on the system, they say that the hard drive is faulty in the TV box but when an engineer does turn up, he finds out there's nothing wrong with it at all.

I'll certainly not be staying with them in July and my wife wants to leave them now, if she could!
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by Nicky knowles
Nicky knowles
The worst of the worst of providers
4 months ago.
Review
Customer services do not speak English and hang up when you are faced with the numerious issues inherent with any of their broadband services. Horrific company do not use at all!!! Avoid this unless you like speaking to people who don’t understand you nearly as much as they appear to not want to help you. Overpriced and undersupported. Terrible terrible terrible service provider.
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by Colin
Colin
Awful - stupid customer service
4 months ago.
Review
Tragic company who clearly have the intelligence of a fly. CEO and General Counsel are cowards because they know what a awful company they have created.

I truely hope one day people will switch and these jokers will be on the streets.
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by john cooper
john cooper
virgin
4 months ago.
Review
have been waiting for over 3 months for an install all you get is lies and rescheduled appointments use BT way better
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by James
James
Rubbish
4 months ago.
Review
The system is always down I ring them to ask why they just fob you off customer service is terrible
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by Dunja
Dunja
TRY TO AVOID
4 months ago.
Review
Rubbish customer service.
Felt humiliated after talking to Ruth a MANAGER.
They’ve been overcharging me for months. rip offs, any other company is better than virgin media! Trying to cancel.. now they want to charge me more then £140 rip offs!
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by Dunja
Dunja
Rubbish customer service
4 months ago.
Review
DONT RECOMMEND THEM AT ALL TRY TO AVOID AT ALL COST.
Rubbish customer service, been basically called a liar while talking to the MANAGER while I was reading out the facts written on my contract. Trying to cancel everything now, they want to charge me more than £140.Been overcharged many times they are just RIP OFFS.
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
0 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by VirginIsAJoke
VirginIsAJoke
Virgin - Crash and Burn
4 months ago.
Review
Would write a lengthy review. But no.

Virgin defines the con artist scumbags that create rip off Britain.

It's like oil that has come to corrupt Arabs. Their abusing their position as the main holders of cabling fibre broadband in London.
Package price
Customer service
Broadband speed
Overall satisfaction
1 people found the following review helpful
Broadband review by X
X
VIRGIN GO TO HELL
5 months ago.
Review
Cock up from start to finish!!!!!
Sales man full of bull sh**, promise you the earth and Virgin does it all including laying the cable underground. Any problems phone salesman Mr. Cheesman-Joker and he even will overlook the digging, once signed the contract he will never speak to you again and Virgin does the same. Cannot even get my Sim cards from them, the digging crew turned up unannounced with just a bend shuffle could not do the job at all including not enough time booked I had to do the preparation for another day and gave them my tools including a cangoo to hard work for British worker and I had to finish the mess up. Getting cut off from my other providers no Sim cards.
Just had another more local crew coming for digging a trench for the fibre cable what has been done by a previous crew and myself. Been told my internet will be connected today, we will see, pigs might fly. No promised return phone calls, messages only stupid chat line talk. No after care service what's so ever nothing for ill / partly deaf / disabled people very very stressful ,they ignore you in full and chat line it feels like they laugh at you and give you stupid advise you cannot use at all even you have told them. Just a big Mickey Mouse organization. What a disgrace for this country what is not a one off. I feel like the biggest fool conned and dishearten.

What a disgrace and no one overlooks that mess - rip of Britain

Update:
Waiting by the door like a lemon (being disabled) for the next crew to arrive 8.00-13.00 to get me connected to the new internet. My bum is getting numb from waiting.
Just had call from crew member saying he will be late but does not know when.
So called engineer just arrived 1 1/2h late with the wrong Vivid. They made a mistake before and was told it will get sorted. Sweet F all and I lost a whole day and been told I got to sort it out, my blood is boiling. How can I get it sorted if there is no human and in clear English to talk too. An ambrosial got more intelligence then this whole company together.

Real clusterfucks!!!!!
I start to wonder if Virgin Media has any employee's at all, so far I found unskilled subby's but was told they do not use subcontractors anymore. It starts to look like Pinocchio's all around there.

Will see if I can get a line to the top man Tom Mockridge I need a secretary to deal with the amount of work Virgin Media is giving me. Been not given any internet today at all, what a circus performance.
Have written to him and let's see what happens next.
Package price
Customer service
Overall satisfaction
1 people found the following review helpful
Write a review
By clicking post you agree to Landlinesavers Terms and Conditions.

Search for Virgin Media TV & Broadband in your area

Enter your postcode below to find the best Virgin Media deals

 
 

Virgin Media Features

How do I switch my broadband to Virgin Media?

Switching your broadband provider is a less painful exercise than it used to be. Before you begin the process, it's definitely worth making sure that you're outside of your contract tie-in with your current broadband provider. If you aren't then you will face a financial penalty and will probably be required to pay for each month that you have left on your contract. If you would like to switch to Virgin Media broadband and your contract has ended, you can go ahead and place your order with Virgin Media. If you don't already have Virgin fibre cable going to your property, an Engineer appointment will be arranged for it's installation (if you are unsure about the disruption that installation will cause, you can arrange a pre-installation visit from an Engineer). We recommend that you wait to cancel your services with your current provider until your Virgin Media appointment has been made. If you're ready to start looking for a Virgin Media broadband deal, just enter your postcode into our Virgin Media broadband calculator above to see which Virgin Media broadband deals are available in your area. Or, for results that include deals from all major providers, use the calculator at the top of this page

Can I keep my telephone number if I switch to Virgin Media broadband?

The simple answer is YES! As long as you're not moving house away from your current telephone exchange. The telecoms regulator Ofcom clearly stipulate that if you have not moved, your old provider must allow your number to be transferred.

How long will it take to switch my broadband provider to Virgin Media?

If you and your property are new to Virgin Media, you can expect to be offered an engineer visit for fibre cable installation within approximately 14 days of placing your order. It may take longer if Virgin Media have to seek permission from the owners of other properties effected by the installation, for example in the case of shared access. If your property already has Virgin Media fibre cable, you could be eligible for their Quickstart service, which could see you up and running within as little as 4 days.

Virgin Media review logo

Virgin Media Pro's & Con's

Here's what we think of Virgin Media

Virgin Media Pro's

  • No phone line required
  • No satellite dish required for tv
  • All services can be installed during the same engineer visit

Virgin Media Con's

  • Installation and activation fees may apply
  • Some digging may be necessary to get the fibre cable to your property
  • Some drilling into the property may be necessary

Can I get Virgin Media broadband without a phone line?

With any standard (i.e. ADSL) broadband connection the broadband is sent down the copper phone line. Even if you have Superfast fibre broadband the last part of the connection from the telephone exchange to your property still requires the phone line. Virgin Media is the only broadband provider in the UK who can deliver fixed line broadband without a phone line. This is because Virgin don’t use BT’s infrastructure. Instead, they use their own fibre-optic network. Virgin broadband is not available to all properties in the UK but, if you are in a city or built up area, you are more likely to have the option of getting broadband without a phone line.

Will there be any loss of service if I switch to Virgin Media broadband?

If you are switching to Virgin Media, it is advisable to co-ordinate cancellation of services with your current provider with the activation of your Virgin Media package, allowing a small overlap to minimise loss of service. Before ordering Virgin Media broadband, please check the cancellation notice required by your current provider.

Do I need a MAC code to switch to Virgin Media broadband?

In June 2015 Ofcom made it easier for consumers to switch their phone or broadband supplier. You no longer need to contact your current provider for a MAC code (Migration Authorisation Code). The switching process is entirely handled by your new supplier (Virgin Media). This helps to avoid lengthy phone calls to your old provider.